378: Two signed first editions of Frost Hollow Hall by Emma Carroll

Frost Hollow Hall by Emma CarrollITEM: Two signed first editions of Frost Hollow Hall by Emma Carroll

DETAILS: ‘Frost Hollow Hall’ is Emma’s debut novel for Faber. Told in the distinctive voice of Tilly Higgins, it was inspired by a winter’s day from Emma’s childhood. Currently, Emma is working on her second novel. It is set in a Victorian circus.

This is a charming story which, despite dealing with dark themes of grief, poverty and death, remains light-hearted and hopeful. With wonderful description and great characterisation, Emma Carroll is a real find and Frost Hollow Hall is a perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense (We Love This Book)

A spine-tingling debut novel with a strong period flavour that will delight all those who love a good ghost story (LoveReading4Kids)

A beautiful debut, that touches on the classics of childhoods gone by (Serendipity Reviews)

Emma CarrollBIO: When she isn’t writing, Emma Carroll teaches English part-time at a secondary school in Devon. She has also worked as a news reporter, an avocado picker and the person who punches holes into filofax paper. She recently graduated with distinction from Bath Spa University’s MA in Writing For Young People. In another life she wishes she’d written ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier. Emma lives in the Somerset hills with her husband and two terriers.

About Candy Gourlay

Growing up in the Philippines, Candy Gourlay wondered why all the books she'd ever loved didn't resemble her steamy, tropical home in Manila. As a result, it took her years to fulfil her dream of becoming an author – and years to learn that Filipino stories, too, belong in the pages of books. Her latest novel is BONE TALK, set in 1899 and told from the point of view of a boy from a headhunting village during the US invasion of the Philippines. She has just published her first picture book, IS IT A MERMAID – about a dugong who thinks she's a mermaid. Candy's other novels, TALL STORY and SHINE, have been listed for many prizes in the United Kingdom such as the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Children's Book Prize. Both novels won the Crystal Kite Prize for Europe and Tall Story was awarded the National Children's Book Award in the Philippines.

11 comments

  1. Pingback: NEWS:Authors for The Phillphees | booklol16's Blog

  2. Is the bid for both books or just one?

    £10

  3. emma carroll

    Both!

  4. HP

    Would it be possible to give it to the top two bidders?:D

  5. emma carroll

    Good idea- my only concern is that it’s listed as one item, so to split the lot might confuse people?

  6. I can change the listing to it’s for ‘signed first edition, two available.’ Is that okay with you, Emma? Daphne?

  7. emma carroll

    Yes, good idea if Daphne’s ok with it?

  8. If it’s for top two bidders then count me in for £10 too

  9. Of course that’s ok, the more the merrier 🙂

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: