136: Submission package critique by Sworn Secret author Amanda Jennings

ITEM: A submission package critique of first three chapters, synopsis and letter, by contemporary fiction author, Amanda Jennings.

DESCRIPTION: This can take the form of an email report and telephone conversation, or a face to face meeting over lunch in London or within 1 hour of Reading.

Amanda Jennings Sworn Secret by Amanda JenningsBIO: Amanda Jennings is a contemporary fiction writer. Her first book, Sworn Secret, was published last year in the UK, and is soon to be published in Italy, Taiwan and as an ebook in the US. The Judas Scar will be published in May 2014 by Cutting Edge Press.

About Candy Gourlay

Candy Gourlay is a Filipino author living in London. She was a journalist writing about dictators in the Third World before she took up a full time position battling dictators of the nappy-clad variety. She inadvertently became a web designer while avoiding doing the dishes. She takes procrastination to new levels by blogging, drawing and making YouTube videos for fun. Her debut novel Tall Story was nominated for the Carnegie Medal and shortlisted for eleven children’s book prizes including the Blue Peter prize. It won the Crystal Kite Children’s Book Prize for Europe. Her latest book is called Shine. www.candygourlay.com

22 comments

  1. Let’s begin with £30!

  2. I am underlining LUNCH in capital letters to this donation. My shout. In London or an hour from Reading. We will have a lovely lunch and can chat about your writing, my writing, anybody’s writing. There will be pudding.

  3. IF I fail to nab andy and tony i’ll be back, though i have no writing to discuss so it would just be lunch lol

  4. For those that don’t have writing to discuss: I’ll take you to lunch, wine and dine you, laugh at ALL your jokes, and when published, will send you two signed and dedicated copies of The Judas Scar (out in May) and a Crunchie.

  5. Right, let’s get serious here. £100. I have no book to critique but I would love to talk about Sworn Secret AND the Judas Scar and then when Hollywood come knocking for the rights to Sworn Secret and you are all famous and everything I can say “I once had lunch with her” and all my friends will be “what?!! Seriously?! But she is like totes amazeballs” and I can be like “ya ha, I know, right?”

    Shall I stop?

    I am serious about the £100 Jennings.

  6. Well, then, Your Highness. I shall be sending you TWO CRUNCHIES. And choosing a monumental place for lunch. Many thanks.

  7. If this is the KFC drive thru at Reading Gate I am going to mightily disappointed, you know that, right?

  8. Oh. OK then. *gets her copy of Fast Food Joints in Berkshire out again*

  9. £110 – as long as there is a McFlurry for pudding

  10. A McFlurry is certainly an option. Thank you for your bid! AJ

  11. Honk back. Thank you very much! This is going to have to be a very good lunch. I shall learn a few jokes.

  12. Mrs H

    Are there any months you’re not available to do this, Amanda? 🙂

  13. No, should be able to do this whenever. Would need a week or so to look at synopsis/chapters, but really I’m around, diary dependent of course. It will get busier towards May in the run up to the publication of The Judas Scar – but I can ALWAYS MAKE TIME FOR LUNCH!!! 😉

  14. Mrs H

    Hi Amanda – I commented earlier but it seems to have vanished! Is there any month when you’re not available to do this?

  15. Mrs H

    Sorry Amanda – previous comment reappeared as I was making second one! D’oh! I’d like to bid 135GBP 🙂

  16. Oh wow. That’s amazing. Thank you! 🙂

  17. Is there Crunchie for pudding? Love love love Crunchies! 🙂

  18. Oh yes! We will have crunchies for pudding and I will send you home with two. One for the journey home. One for breakfast. 🙂

  19. Mmm lovely … 🙂

Comments are closed.

