79: Advanced proof copy of The Days of Anna Madrigal by Armistead Maupin

51JxeFSR4wL._SY445_ITEM: Advanced proof copy of The Days of Anna Madrigal by Armistead Maupin. (Publication date 30 January 2014.)

DETAIL: The Days of Anna Madrigal, the suspenseful, comic, and touching ninth novel in Armistead Maupin’s bestselling “Tales of the City” series, follows one of modern literature’s most unforgettable and enduring characters-Anna Madrigal, the legendary transgender landlady of 28 Barbary Lane-as she embarks on a road trip that will take her deep into her past.

Now ninety-two, and committed to the notion of “leaving like a lady,” Mrs. Madrigal has seemingly found peace with her “logical family” in San Francisco: her devoted young caretaker Jake Greenleaf; her former tenant Brian Hawkins and his daughter Shawna; and Michael Tolliver and Mary Ann Singleton, who have known and loved Anna for nearly four decades.

Some members of Anna’s family are bound for the otherworldly landscape of Burning Man, the art community in Nevada’s Black Rock Desert where 60,000 revelers gather to construct a city designed to last only one week. Anna herself has another destination in mind: a lonely stretch of road outside of Winnemucca where the 16-year-old boy she once was ran away from the whorehouse he called home. With Brian and his beat-up RV, she journeys into the dusty troubled heart of her Depression childhood to unearth a lifetime of secrets and dreams and attend to unfinished business she has long avoided.

About K

YA writer. Voracious reader. Feminist. Home educator. Addicted to tea and Twitter.

49 comments

  1. Mel Chadwick

    £10

  2. Opening this with a fiver – I know there’s more to come! Oh Mrs Madrigal, how I’ve always loved you…

  3. Whoops…that’ll be £15 then.

  4. Shona

    I’ll see your £20 and raise the bid to £35 🙂

  5. Kirsteen

    Knowing what happened next to dear Anna is definitely worth £50 to me…

  6. Christopher

    £75

  7. Kirstie macgillivray

    Having just finished ‘Mary Anne in autumn’ my thirst continues-£75

  8. Kirstie macgillivray

    Make that £80

  9. Neva Purnell

    £300

  10. david krause

    ok 324

  11. Neva Purnell

    upping the ante…330

  12. Neva Purnell

    Final offer…335! I’m old, when will I get this chance again! Be kind!

  13. Liz Ainley

    £500 want this!

  14. Liz Ainley

    Anna Madrigal you will be mine!! (I hope…)

  15. Neva Purnell

    Ok, Liz, best wishes it appears it will be your’s, but I hope everyone who bid will donate some part of what the bid to a charity of their choice helping the Phillipines! Haven’t seen another site like this in the US. Some wonderful author should start one…in honor of Anna Madrigal and Mr. Maupin!

  16. Plenty of days to still bid on this one…and we are open to author donations and bidders from the US and indeed worldwide.

  17. Liz Ainley

    That’s true! I don’t too much if am outbid as it’s such an important cause

  18. Liz Ainley

    Sorry missed “mind” there.

  19. Liz Ainley

    Neva, will still donate. It’s an absolute tragedy x

    • Neva

      Great I am, too. I’m going to donate to Drs Without Borders. I’ve already donated, but giving again is well worth it. I do love Mr. Maupin!

  20. Liz Ainley

    He’s a genius Neva! X and a great guy to boot x

  21. Liz Ainley

    Ooooo x

  22. Liz Ainley

    £500 come on u guys! 5 days! Bid bid bid!

  23. Neva Purnell

    I’d ask Mr. Maupin to post another notice on Face Book and Twitter, I can not help but think his “friends” will be very happy to give! Not unlike I did!

  24. david krause

    525

  25. Neva

    Yea, David! USA, USA, USA!

  26. Liz Ainley

    I see…..ok mr Krause…£530…:-)

  27. Liz Ainley

    Neva! That’s not very supportive! X

  28. Liz Ainley

    Tick tock……

  29. Neva Purnell

    I’m sorry Liz, David is a friend of mine! Was just encouraging him!

  30. Liz Ainley

    S’ok Neva I can tell u r a nice person!

  31. Neva

    Do not worry, we Texans are a tough lot, thicker skinned than most due to our last two State Governors! Oh yes, and one very off the rails US Senator! Then there’s our on again, off again University of Texas Longhorns!

  32. Liz Ainley

    Ha ha Neva! I like u! 🙂

  33. Neva

    Liz, are you in London?

  34. Liz Ainley

    Yes indeed Neva! X

  35. Liz Ainley

    Anna, do you want dinner first or shall I just read you?

  36. Neva Purnell

    Did you bring her home?

  37. Liz Ainley

    Not yet!

  38. david krause

    hi all sorry but I want this 550

  39. Liz Ainley

    Oh David! Gotta check me turnups n down the back of the sofa!

  40. Liz Ainley

    Do I?!

  41. Liz Ainley

    Sadly I must bow out gracefully. Congratulations David x

Comments are closed.

